+4 votes
2 views
How can you send messages that disappear on Telegram?

ago in Guides by (505k points)
reopened ago | 2 views

1 Answer

+5 votes
Best answer

Disappearing messages on Telegram
secret chats
Send disappearing photos and videos to any contact

  • Although Telegram does not have a specific function of self-destructing messages, it makes tools available to users with which they can be calm about their content.
  • Thanks to them, it is possible to ensure that both text messages and media are quickly deleted, according to the time you have determined, before someone else sees them

Unlike what we see in other messaging apps, like Signal and WhatsApp, Telegram doesn't offer us a dedicated disappearing messages mode, but there are two ways to send disappearing messages in the app. Therefore, we could still state that the functions of sending messages that disappear in Telegram is one of the most interesting features of the platform . But how should you use them?

Disappearing messages on Telegram

secret chats

The first response comes from the side of secret chats or Instagram Secret Chats , a solution dedicated to Telegram's end-to-end encrypted messaging, which is enabled for chats between two people, assuring participants that everything they send remains only in that chat, for a short time..

Secret chat has a timer option that allows you to send messages that disappear for anywhere from a minute to a week (including texts, photos, messages, and other media), so you don't have to worry about them .

When you're in secret chat mode, Android prevents users from taking screenshots; while iPhone users can still take a screenshot but will be notified about it in the chat..

image

Start a secret chat on iPhone

  • Open the Telegram app and go to the conversation with the person you want a secret chat with
  • Click on the More button, and then on Start secret chat
  • Tap Start to start the chat in the popup window that appears

From that moment, the secret chat will be activated, and in the stopwatch icon of the text box you can set the amount of time that has to elapse until your messages or media are deleted.

When you send those messages or media, you'll see a countdown , indicating the time remaining to delete it..

Start a secret chat on Android

  • Open the Telegram app and go to the conversation with the person you want a secret chat with
  • Click on your profile name at the top of the screen
  • Click on the three points, in the upper right part
  • Tap the menu button, and Start secret chat

Again, from that moment the secret chat will be activated, and in the text box timer icon you can set the amount of time that has to elapse until your messages or media are deleted.

When you send those messages or media, you'll see a countdown , indicating the time remaining to delete it.

Send disappearing photos and videos to any contact

Secret Chat is a feature that provides end-to-end encryption, but what if you just want to send a self-destructing photo or video, like you would on Snapchat or Instagram? In that case, you can take advantage of the media self-destruct feature, which allows you to send messages that disappear on a one-second to one-minute timer. Again, this only works in one-on-one chats, and not in groups or Telegram channels.

Media destruction causes a blurry overlay to appear , as seen in the image below. Immediately the person clicks in the middle, the timer starts, and if they capture the screen you are notified.

image

Send photos and videos that disappear on iPhone

  • Open the Telegram app and go to the conversation with the person you want a secret chat with
  • Click on the attach icon next to the text box, and choose the content
  • Hold down on Send, until you see "Send with timer"
  • Select a time interval, and press Submit to confirm

The content will be sent to the chat and, when the indicated time passes, it will be inaccessible to your interlocutor .

Send photos and videos that disappear on Android

  • Open the Telegram app and go to the conversation with the person you want a secret chat with
  • Click on the attach icon next to the text box, and choose the content
  • Tap the stopwatch icon next to the Submit button
  • Select a time interval, and press Submit to confirm

The content will be sent to the chat and, when the indicated time passes, it will be inaccessible to your interlocutor .



ago by (3.2m points)
edited ago

Related questions

+4 votes
1 answer
asked Nov 29, 2020 in Help by backtothefuture (505k points) | 208 views
+3 votes
1 answer
asked Jun 8, 2020 in Guides by backtothefuture (505k points) | 415 views
+4 votes
1 answer
asked 5 days ago in Guides by backtothefuture (505k points) | 4 views
+3 votes
1 answer
+3 votes
1 answer
asked Dec 23, 2021 in Tips & Tricks by backtothefuture (505k points) | 60 views
Sponsored articles cost $40 per post. You can contact us via Feedback
9,722 questions
9,843 answers
496 comments
3 users