There are two ways to delete emails in Gmail: archive and delete. The point is that when an email is deleted, it is sent to the trash, where it will stay for 30 days. Although we cannot empty the Gmail trash to free up space before the mentioned period of time..
The difference between archiving and deleting is quite clear, archived emails are not deleted, while deleted ones eventually end up disappearing forever. Gmail keeps them in the "Trash" for 30 days in case we change our mind, after that they will disappear forever. But as we discussed above, if we want to speed up the process, we can delete them manually.
Remember that deleting emails that are already in the trash is permanent. Once they have been erased, it is impossible to recover them..
Empty the Gmail Trash
In order to empty the Gmail trash, we will first have to enter our email from our desktop web browser or mobile device.
On mobile devices, we are going to click on the icon with the three lines in the upper left corner of the screen to be able to expand the menu and find the Trash option..
If we are from a computer, we will have to expand the folder menu that is on the left side, in the same place where we find the "Inbox", and so on.
At the top of the recycle bin, we will find a message that explains that the bin will be emptied after 30 days. Here, we are simply going to select "Empty Trash Now" in order to speed up the process.
A confirmation message will appear, all we have to do is simply click on "Empty" to continue.
And basically that would be it, it is the only thing we have to do to be able to empty the entire trash. All those emails that we have deleted in seconds, cannot be recovered again. The most advisable thing is that we are totally sure that none of these are really important; because we are not going to be able to recover them in any way, there is no tool for this, so you have to be very sure.